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Acquiring DATES
- - - - TO REMEMBER
Continuing Education Credits
= OCTOBER 1, 2020
Just Got Easier! ARPPS 2020
Filing Available
We have GOOD NEWS for our Ohio Licensees
OCTOBER 14, 2020
As of October 15, 2020, all Continuing Education Credits can now Board Meeting
be acquired through Approved Webinars and Online Programs
through the end of this Compliance Period (12-31-2020). OCTOBER 15, 2020
Effective Date for New Rule regarding CE
See Acquiring CE, page 4, for full story In Person Waiver
NOVEMBER 11, 2020
LIGENSE RENEWAI_ Veterans Day Observed
NOVEMBER 18, 2020
|S IN FUI.I. SWING Board Meeting
ALL current, active licenses and permits will expire on NOVEMBER 26, 2020
December 31, 2020. (Does not apply to apprenticeships.) Thanksgiving Holiday Observed
The License Renewal period began September 2, 2020 and will NOVEMBER 30. 2020
remain open through December 31, 2020. ARPPS 2020 Q3 ’
Renewal notifications have been sent by email to each licensee’s Filing Due
current email address of record.
See License Renewal, page 2 DEGEMBER 16, 2020
Board Meeting
DECEMBER 25, 2020
Christmas Holiday Observed
UPCOMING BOARD MEETINGS DECEMBER 31, 2020
End of 2019-2020 Compliance Period
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, please REMAINING - Last Day to Fullfill CE Credit Hours (18)

Locations, and Method to Convene are TENTATIVE
subject to change. Check our website NOVEMBER 18

for current meeting information. JANUARY 1. 2021
DECEMBER 16 ) . .
Start of 2021-2022 Compliance Period
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LICENSING

License Renewal

(continued from page 1)

Please login to your eLicense account
to complete the online renewal
application.

Attach (upload) any required
documentation and pay applicable
license renewal fees.

Payments may be made by credit card
or electronic check (e-check or ACH).

LICENSE RENEWAL FEES

Individual

 Courtesy Card Permit $200
Funeral Director only

 Crematory Operator Permit $150

« Embalmer $200
+ Funeral Director $200
Facility

- Crematory Facility $400
« Embalming Facility $400
 Funeral Home Facility $400

Any license not renewed on or before
December 31, 2020 is considered
lapsed.

A lapsed license will incur a late fee of
$50 per month until reinstated.

For additional info on late fees, see
“License Fee Schedule” under the
Licensing tab on the Board’s website:

www.funeral.ohio.gov

Crematory Operator Permit Renewal

The Crematory Operator Permit
(CROP) is the latest license type issued
by the State of Ohio Board of
Embalmers and Funeral Directors. The
permit became effective on January 1,
2019.

This will be the first time a holder of a
CROP must renew their permit, and
the requirements for renewal of a
CROP are different from other license
types issued.

The holder of a CROP will be required
to demonstrate proof of two items in
addition to their completed renewal
application:

1. An unexpired and active certificate
from a Board approved Crematory
Operation Certification Program, or
in the case of a renewal, a Refresher
Course completion certificate,

and,

2. Within the last 24 months,
successful completion of a two-hour
course consisting of Laws and Rules
relevant to Ohio and specific to
crematory operation.

Demonstrating proof to the Board
means submitting (uploading as an
attachment) a copy of each of the two
required certificates, if issued
separately. You will do this through
your eLicense account.

Accepted certificates must include valid
dates.

Board approved Crematory Operation
Certification Programs can be found
on our website under the Continuing
Education tab.

The approved Providers for these
programs are:

+ Cremation Association of North
America (CANA)

* International Cemetery, Cremation
and Funeral Services Association
(ICCFA)

« Matthews Cremation Division

» National Funeral Directors
Association (NFDA)

These Crematory Operation
Certification Program certificates are
typically good for 5 years. Therefore,
a renewal applicant may be able to
use this certificate for more than one
renewal period before the certificate
expires.

However, the “Laws and Rules”
certificates are only good for 24
months. These certificates must have
been completed on or after September
1, 2018 for renewal of a CROP in this
Compliance Period.

A CROP holder will have to get 2 hours
of Laws and Rules during every
Compliance Period.

If you have further questions regarding
the CROP, please contact us at:
Info@funeral.ohio.gov
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LICENSING

Applying for
Inactive Status

A licensee may request that their
Funeral Director or Embalmer license
be placed on Inactive Status.

You can make the request through your
elicense account.

The applicant must be in good standing
with the Board, and in compliance with
applicable Continuing Education
requirements.

A Funeral Director or Embalmer who
is granted Inactive Status is prohibited
from participating in any activity in Ohio
for which a FD or EMB license is
required.

A Funeral Director or Embalmer who
has been granted Inactive Status is
exempt from the Continuing Education
requirements during the period of the
Inactive Status.

If you have been granted Inactive
Status you may not return to Active
Status for at least 2 years.

Anytime after the 2 years, you may
apply to return to Active Status. You
will need to comply with the following
conditions:

1. File a formal request with the Board
through eLicense

2. Take and pass the Ohio Laws exam
for each license being activated

3. Pay a Reactivation Fee to the Board
for each license being reactivated

If you have further questions regarding
Inactive Status, please contact us at:
Info@funeral.ohio.gov
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STAYING CONNECTED

Certification & Licensure Examiner

Kém Grossman

ALL DOCUMENTS pertaining to license applications, must be sent in and received
at least 10 days prior to a Board Meeting. If items are not received at least 10
days prior to the Board Meeting date, your application will not be included on the
Board agenda for that month.

PLEASE make sure all emails and phone numbers are current in eLicense.
Renewal Notices go out to the email that you have in eLicense. You can update
your address on your elicense dashboard.

PLEASE remember, we are currently working remotely, if you have any questions,
comments or concerns please contact us via EMAIL ONLY! Please be patient
with any request, as we are working in unfamiliar conditions and do not have
access to our office equipment. Some items require signatures that take time to
track down and items to be mailed out which can take some time. So please be
patient and understanding with us.

APPRENTICES - If you have not fulfilled your course requirements for your
apprenticeship, CCMS and OFDA are offering classes that contain all required
courses.

ALL FTC packets have been mailed to apprentices that have had their 6 month
interviews. If you did not receive one and you have had your 6 month interview,
please send me an email and | can get one out to you. Going forward, all FTC
brochures will be sent with your Apprentice Certificate and pocket cards. PLEASE
be sure you hang onto those, as they will be discussed in your 6 month interview.

RENEWAL PERIOD IS HERE! ALL licenses MUST be renewed. If you were just
issued a license at last month’s Board meeting, that will also need to be renewed
by the end of this year. ALL Crematory Operator permits will also need to be
renewed, please make sure you have completed your Refresher Course if
necessary, and have the proper documentation for your renewal.

APPRENTICES - If you have any questions, comments or concerns, my email
is ALWAYS open. If you have something to share, good or bad, | am here to
listen. If you are unhappy or have problems, part of my job is to make sure your
apprenticeship is going smoothly. If you have any issues, please let me know and
| will do my best to help you work things out.

This also goes for MASTERS as well...if you have issues with your apprentice,
please let me know. We want the apprenticeship experience to be as smooth as
possible and again, if there is anything | can do to help, | am all ears.

KGrossman@funeral.ohio.gov
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CONTINUING EDUCATION

Acquiring GE

(continued from page 1)

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic and the hardship it has caused, the
Board has taken action to revise certain rules in the Ohio Administrative Code
(OAC).

These proposed rule changes were a collaborative effort stemming from events
which began in March of 2020. By June of 2020 the process was underway to
formalize these changes.

We heard from many Licensees and Providers regarding safety concerns
pertaining to the In Person requirement for Continuing Education.

In compliance with Ohio law, a Notice of Public Hearing was announced and
the hearing was held on September 3, 2020.

A ruling was made by the Joint Committee on Agency Rule Review (JCARR)
with an effective date of October 15, 2020.

The proposed and subsequently approved amendment changed the language
of 4717-9-01 to read:

(H) In the event the governor has declared a state of emergency, and if the
board of embalmers and funeral directors determines that it is a hardship to
obtain in-person hours, it may exempt the in-person, fact to face requirement
for the compliance period during which the state of emergency was declared.

THE RESULT
As is the case, Governor DeWine did indeed declare a State of Emergency in
Ohio in March 2020

At its October Board Meeting, the Ohio Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors
confirmed that it is a hardship to obtain In Person hours at this time and has
decided to exempt the In Person, face to face requirement for the current
Compliance Period (12-31-2020).

It was further determined that the total number of required hours will remain the
same at 18.

All 18 hours can now be acquired through Approved Webinars and Online
Programs.

In Person hours are still acceptable.

KBourk@funeral.ohio.gov

Exemptions or Waivers
from
Continuing Education

Separation From Practice Exemption

A licensee who is not engaged in the
practice of embalming and/or funeral
directing in the state of Ohio may apply
for an exemption of the CE
requirements.

50 Years of Licensure Exemption

An individual who has held a license
as an embalmer or funeral director for
not less than 50 years may apply for
an exemption of the CE requirements.

Physical Disability / lliness / Undue
Hardship Waiver

In individual cases involving physical
disability, illness as certified by a
physician, or undue hardship, the board
may grant a waiver of the CE
requirements.

The due date to apply for a Physical
Disability/lllness/Undue Hardship
Waiver was August 31, 2020.

The board may, in individual cases
involving an emergency, grant
exception to the deadline.

It is important to note that the Board
shall not grant an exemption of the
continuing education requirements to
any licensee designated as a funeral
director actually in charge of or
ultimately responsible for a funeral
home or an embalmer actually in
charge of an embalming facility in the
state of Ohio.

An approval of an Exemption or
Waiver does not waive the licensee
from renewal fees.
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Continuing Education
Requirements for
License Renewal

A person holding an Embalmer and/or
Funeral Director license is to obtain a
minimum of 18 hours of continuing
education credit.

4717-9-01 Ohio Administrative Code (OAC)

A newly licensed Funeral Director or
Embalmer shall be exempt from the
Continuing Education requirements
during their first biennial Compliance
Period. This is applicable only to initial
licenses issued from January 1, 2019
through December 31, 2020.
4717-9-02(F) Ohio Administrative Code (OAC)

A person holding a Crematory Operator
Permit (CROP) is to obtain 2 hours of
Continuing Education on Laws and
Rules relevant to Ohio and specific to
crematory operation.

4717-15-02 Obio Administrative Code (OAC)

IMPORTANT

It is the responsibility of each licensee
to obtain Continuing Education and
retain all certificates of completion
for 4 years or until the licensee
submits such as proof during a
random audit.

FYI

Only In Person programs
qualify for
Out-of-State Credit.

Webinars and Online programs
do not qualify for
Out-of-State Credit.
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INDIGENT BURIAL AND CREMATION SUPPORT PROGRAM

In Issue 2 of the State of Ohio Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors
RESPECT Quarterly Newsletter, you were introduced to the Indigent Burial and
Cremation Support Program.

The program launched in December 2019 when the Board began accepting
applications electronically through its website. Submissions were moderate
from the outset, but the frequency has increased over the months with the
collaboration of Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission, Ohio Township
Association, and the Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Real Estate
& Professional Licensing sharing information about the program with its members
across Ohio.

In this issue, the Board would like to share with you the five (5) required items
to accompany an application for reimbursement.

When a local government entity completes an application online it must also
submit (upload as an attachment) an original or legible copy of each of the
following supporting documentation:

1. An affidavit or statement of indigency status determined by the local government
entity;

2. A statement of goods and services from the licensed funeral director;

3. Receipts of charges and payments for goods and services;

4. The cremation authorization form;

5. The burial transit or disposition permit;

6. If applicable, the contract or formal agreement between the local government
entity and the funeral home to perform final disposition of indigent persons
for the local government entity.

If any of the above-mentioned required documents are not submitted, as
applicable, with an application, the application will be deemed incomplete
and not processed until all missing items are received. No exceptions.

A “local government entity” is defined as a municipal corporation, village, city,
or any township.

It is helpful that copies of multi-page documents are complete, and no pages
are missing. For example, a cremation authorization form contains more than
one page.

And remember, the program can only reimburse. Please be sure that the funeral
service provider has been paid for goods and services rendered prior to applying
for reimbursement. The submitted copy of a receipts of charges and payments
should demonstrate that no balance due.

IndigentSupport@funeral.ohio.gov
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ANNUAL AND QUARTERLY REPORTING— Got a Question?
UPDATES We Can Help

Annual Preneed Reports submit PAPER COPIES via MAIL BOARD STAFF

Annual Preneed Reports are past due. Please mail your Report if you have not already

. . . o ) . Cheryl L. Grossman — Executive Director
done so. You will receive email notification that it has been received. Ty

GGrossman@funeral.ohio.gov

ARPPS submit ONLINE at www.funeral.ohio.gov Jarrod Williams - Program Administrator

Quarterly ARPPS Reports (Automated Reporting Preneed Payment System) can be JWilliams@funeral.ohio.gov

accessed at www.funeral.ohio.gov/ARPPS B.usine.ss Operations
Financial Reports
« ARPPS 2020 Q3 filing is available OCTOBER 1, 2020 Purchasing
and will be due to the Board by NOVEMBER 30, 2020 Rules and Regulations
(sold between 7-1-2020 through 9-30-2020) Compliance
Complaints

+ ARPPS 2020 Q2 filing was due to the Board by AUGUST 31, 2020
(sold between 4-1-2020 through 6-30-2020)

*Please submit even if filing late Kim Grossman - Certification & Licensure

Examiner
KGrossman@funeral.ohio.gov
Individual Licensure
Facility Licensure
Crematory Operator Permits

FAQs

ARPPS AUTOMATED REPORTING PRENEED PAYMENT SYSTEM Apprenticeships
Licensure Certification
Background Checks
Q: 1am locked out of my ARPPS A2 Our ARPPS Administrator can help Renewals
Account, or | need a you with that. Please email
Password Reset. What ARPPS@funeral.ohio.gov Kim Bourk — Program Administrator

> .
should | do? KBourk@funeral.ohio.gov

Gontinuing Education
Q: How do I submit a Zero Filing A: - Login CE Exemptions and Waivers
in ARPPS? « Click on your account CE Provider Applications
» Under “My Funeral Homes”, Click Newsletters
on Funeral Home name Website
+ Click Submit Zero Filing

(not Start New Filing) .
. Select Quarter Derek Bogner — Auditor

- Save DBogner@funeral.ohio.gov

« Complete Automated Reporting and

Preneed Payment System (ARPPS)

You can find more Frequently Asked Questions and Answers at:
www.funeral.ohio.gov/ARPPS

FOR YOUR CONVENIENCE
BOARD MEMBERS BOARD STAFF
77 South High Street William C. Wappner, CFSP, COO, Cheryl L. Grossman, Executive Director
16th Floor President Jarrod Williams, Compliance If you are in need of specific forms,
: Thomas Taneff, Vice President Kim Grossman, Licensure and Certification
Columbus, Ohio 43215 Edward C. Nurre, Secretary Kim Bourk, Continuing Education please refer to our neWIy enhanced
614.466.4252 Jon W. Rettig, Sr. Derek Bogner, Preneed Recovery Fund/ARPPS website
fax: 614.728.6825 George Horne, II Eric Anderson, Inspector .
www.funeral.ohio.gov Amanda Crates Julie Clevenger, Inspector funeral.ohlo.gov
Troy Seehase, Inspector
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